Launched

Had this short story on my other blog, so I’m re-posting here. This has been edited since then, so it should be easier to read!

Hope you enjoy! Happy summer! (Here comes the heat.)

I arrived at precisely 6 O’clock in the morning.

Everything stood tall and looming overhead.

Gawking, I climbed up to the Cock-pit. My Instructor following me.

I checked to make sure everything was where it was supposed to be.

Although my limbs were shaking all over, I sat down examining every detail.

My instructor looked at me, raising his eyebrows.

I nodded.

I was ready.

I heard voices telling me to go ahead.

I pushed the engine gear to full capacity and lifted the plastic frame around the launch button, ready to press it.

My hand shook as it went towards the button.

I again said I was ready, my hand hovering ready to press it.

They all replied: “ready for launch.”

The Instructor turned the key.

My hand bolted to the button pressing it.

I withdrew my hand again.

There was a strange noise that sounded like whistling.

I barely felt any movement.

Relaxing a little I looked back at my instructor.

He nodded again, this time smiling.

I grinned with relief…..I had launched my first rocket.

2 thoughts on “Launched

Join In The Conversation

