Prompt: Renewal

Hello, all! I discovered this prompt thing from another blogger I am following! via Daily Prompt: Renewal

(Note: This post was going (but I didn’t finish it in time) to be posted nearer the end of last year, but this one is completely ‘Solo’ from those. )

I thought I would try this prompt thing. But, I’ve been thinking, maybe I’ll think of my own word and post on that.  Romans 12 is something that my sister and I studied the other night. I think it goes well with what I’m saying here, as well as a few other verses.

Renewal:

Romans 12:2
”…be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is…”

It’s surprising how a flood of thoughts or a whole subject can flow from a single word.

“…a flood of thoughts…can flow from a single word.”

This is definitely the word for this time of year. Renewal. New Year’s resolutions, starting over. Everybody wants new things, skills, and places. But do they really want change? Or do we just wanna look cool, and make everyone think we’re something we’re not? No, I’m not saying everyone who doesn’t accomplish their resolutions is fake.

Maybe they over-stepped what they thought they could do. Maybe they thought they’d try resolving to do something but didn’t make themselves have to do it. Maybe they had a lack of accountability, or they started thinking they weren’t interested in changing.

For instance, I’m an over-thinker. Every time  I go to write a blog post, I almost convince myself not to write it. These thoughts sometimes end up succeeding, I spend too much time thinking ‘do people want to read this?’, ‘I can’t write that well’, and other thoughts that prevent me from doing what I’m truly passionate about. I’m a writer. That’s what I do. I write. One of my New Year’s resolutions is to finish writing my novel.

Romans 12:6
“We have different gifts according to the grace given to each of us. If your gift is prophesying, then prophesy in accordance with your faith; if it is serving, then serve; if it is teaching, then teach; if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give generously; if it is lead, do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully.”

All of these have to do with what you think:

What you think about yourself, the way you see yourself. What you think others think about you.

Romans 12:3
“For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distribute to each of you.”

The way you see the world, your worldview. What you about others.What you’re doing now.

What you will do in the future.

We think too much. We don’t think enough. None of us have original thoughts. But we are all unique in God’s eye.

One of the first steps in changing is acknowledging what you need to change. One of the things that could help, is what’s called a ‘Growth-Mindset’. We need to change our thinking to change the way we do things, or what we do. You want people to encourage you? Be that person to someone else.

2 Corinthians 10:5
“We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of god, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”

Your new year’s goal/resolution won’t be successful unless you change how you think–differently from the previously failed years of halfhearted, shallow, meaningless goals.

Romans 12:2 
”Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is-his good, pleasing and perfect will.”

2 thoughts on “Prompt: Renewal

Join In The Conversation

